menu

Driver's License

Driver’s License Hours:


Fort Madison

933 Ave H
Ft. Madison, IA 52627
Phone: 319-372-3405
Fax: 319-372-7033

Monday and Thursday
8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. in Fort Madison
For Written Test must be present by 3:30 p.m.*

Keokuk

25 North 7th Street
Keokuk, IA 52632
Phone: 319-526-8569

Wednesday and Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. in Keokuk
For Written Test must be present by 3:30 p.m.*


* NO written tests are given after 3:30 p.m. / Appointment is required for driving test.

Iowa Driver's License Manual online

Fees

(Please note:  The following information, while valid when posted here, is subject to change.)
License Class Minimum Age Expiration Date Required Tests Cost
A Commercial 18 2 years /
5-8 years
See CDL manual $8/year**
B Commercial 18 2 years /
5-8 years
See CDL manual $8/year**
C Commercial 18 2 years /
5-8 years
See CDL manual $8/year**
C Noncommercial-Operator
16 2 years /
5-8 years
Knowledge, Vision,
Driving
$4 / year
D Noncommercial-Chauffeur 18 2 years /
5-8 years
See CDL manual $8 / year
L Motorcycle License - added to existing license 16 2 years /
5-8 years
Knowledge, Vision,
Driving See Iowa Motorcycle Operator Manual
$2 / year
Restriction 1 (Motorcycle Instruction Permit - must be added to an existing license) 14 Same as current license Knowlege,
Vison
$2 / year
C Restriction 1 (Motorcycle Permit only - new issuance) 14 4 years Knowledge,
Vision
$14
C Restriction 2
(Instruction Permit)
14 4 years Knowledge,
Vision
$6
Restriction 3 (Commercial Instruction Permit - must be added to an existing license) 18 6 months Knowledge,
Vision
$12
C Restriction 4 (Chauffeur's Instruction Permit) 18 4 years Knowledge,
Vision
$12
C Restriction 5 (Moped/Motorized Bicycle License) 14 2 years Knowledge,
Vision
$8
C Restriction 6 (Minor's Restricted license) 16 2 years Knowledge,
Vision,
Driving
$8
C Restriction 7 (minor’s school license) 14 2 years Knowledge, Vision,
Driving
$8
Upgrade from operator license to chauffer or commercial license 18 Prorate duplicate license Knowledge, Vision, Driving $4 / year

 

The following endorsements are used exclusively in conjunction with a commercial driver's license

Endorsement Fee
Double/Triple trailers $5
Passenger $10
Tank vehicles $5
Hazardous materials** $5**
School bus $10
Remove air brake restriction $10

**The hazardous material endorsement fee must be paid every time a CDL is renewed. The hazardous material knowledge examination is also required. This information from the Iowa Driver's Manual provides a general understanding, however, is not intended to serve as a precise statement of Iowa statutes and should not be considered as such.

For further information, check the Code of Iowa, Chapters 321 through 321J, and the Iowa Department of Transportation rules contained in the Iowa Administrative Code.


What to Bring

  • All applicants must provide verification of social security number.
  • If you are applying for any license, non-driver ID, duplicate, renewal or permit, you must show proof of your age and identity. You must provide one primary document and one secondary document.
    Primary Documents include:
    • Passport
    • Certified birth certificate
    Secondary Documents include:
    • Previous license
    • Social Security Card
    • Employer ID
    • Health Insurance Card
    • Proof of Residency for new Iowa Residents or Move Ins
  • Certified proof of any name change from birth to current.

A complete listing of primary and secondary documents is available at the Driver’s License Station.